On Romney’s Comments: The Self-Interested Vote.

I don’t care to comment on Mr. Romney’s politically foolish “off the record” comments concerning the 47% of American’s who think they are victims and will vote for Obama because they are dependent on government programs (obviously he was blowing smoke, but there have been several previous blog posts of mine that DO deal with the “entitlement” mentality that I feel is a sad and dangerous thing in our nation.) But the issue I really want to tackle is Romney’s implication that voters vote for whatever is best for THEMSELVES. Is this true? Is it out of self interest that we vote?

I feel strongly that although it might seem the logical thing that everyone should vote for the candidate/party that will serve themselves best, that is NOT how it should be. The Christian virtue of loving our neighbor as ourselves demands that we consider not only ourselves, but our fellow citizens as well (and even the benefit of the rest of the world when we consider foreign policy.) I, frankly, prefer to leave myself out of the picture completely and ask: what is best for the nation as a whole? And of course we should be paying particular attention to those things that our Lord showed concern about:  justice, mercy, care for the poor, and upholding Godly moral standards (not listed in any order of importance). As well, common sense dictates that we need good and wise management of government finances and resources.  Notice that “the economy” isn’t really near the top of the issues that our Lord is concerned about (although of course you can argue that a good economy always helps us deal with those first issues.)

As you can probably guess from the listing of issues that I look to vote on, I have major conflicts as I try to decide my vote. But however I vote, it won’t be because I am looking for any personal gain from any politician or party. It HAS to be because I believe it will be best for the country as a whole.

2 thoughts on “On Romney’s Comments: The Self-Interested Vote.

Leave a Reply

