Thankful for my labor and blessings… preparing for a harder world

Today on Labor Day I am thankful for the beautiful vocation that the Lord has blessed me with. I am also thankful for the beautiful vocation He has blessed my wife with. The fruits of these labors have allowed us to comfortably raise our four girls – and we presently do not look with trepidation at the immediate future of our family’s well being.

HOWEVER. My heart is crying out for many in the world and our nation and community who are NOT so blessed… and I am cognizant that everything that our family enjoys is built on the VERY fragile foundation of our economy. I know that any plans I might have for the future cannot be counted upon. EVERY SMALL THING is just a beautiful gift of God FOR THE MOMENT – and I am continually trying to be prepared in my heart and mind for the very possible reality that tomorrow or the next day the world might be dealing with a very different economic and political reality. We might be called on to give up MANY of the gifts that we have enjoyed. Will I be willing to be happy in any and all circumstances? Will I be able to put my full and complete trust in the Lord and his providence?

I want to say that being destitute or homeless or without labor or sustenance would be an opportunity for me to know the limits of my relationship with the Lord. I want to think I could, by His grace, handle it and still sleep at night. I remember one day in seminary when I had $64 in the bank account and we had two weeks until Monica’s next paycheck. We made it through. God was good then. He will be good again, right?

But – we knew we had a paycheck coming!!!!!

No matter what I WANT to think, I know being destitute with a family will not be as easy as I would like to think.

So… while I still have a plethora of God’s blessings, I will praise Him for them and continue to use them to His Glory.

AND I will pray He comes very quickly!

One thought on “Thankful for my labor and blessings… preparing for a harder world

  1. Yes, BUT – you STILL had to live on $64 for 2 weeks! No telling WHAT other stuff might have come up. I say, don’t put yourselves down “just because” you weren’t “exactly” penniless. Could have happened. Been there, done that, scary, BUT, it IS exciting & fulfilling to see what God will do in those circumstances! ….as you said at the end of your essay, “while I still have a plethora of God’s blessings, I will praise Him for them and continue to use them to His Glory.” AMEN!!! I’m sure those blessings will continue, because you recognize them, give God credit for them, no matter how small or large!

Leave a Reply

