Keeping a dialogue with our young people.

I am frustrated that I can’t seem to keep any kind of relationship with many of our church’s young people as they go off into the world and try to grow up. I am frustrated because it seems that at the very time they need the Lord the most (making the most critical decisions in their lives) – they are the farthest away from Him. There is just SUCH a spiritual battle for these young people, and the devil seems to get the upper hand all too often. It is easy to say that we need to be paying more attention to them, but the hard part is that they certainly aren’t listening or caring for anything we might say or do. Their ears are captured by the lies and values of the world and their hearts have no room for the Lord and the Christian life. You would think that the young people who I have known for many years and confirmed only a few years ago might still have some room for a discussion with me about life and faith. But this assumption is so often distressingly wrong. It is as if I don’t have anything to say that is the least relevant for their lives – and in fact there is quite often true animosity toward me that I just never expect. So, where did I go wrong? Where did the church go wrong? Dear Lord please quickly come! Save us from ourselves.

5 thoughts on “Keeping a dialogue with our young people.

  1. Oh, wow! Being trite, which Satan, through my last husband, accused me of, I’ll say, “I feel your pain.”

    I refuse to believe it is all you. “Our” young people have control of their ears, and what or whom they listen to. For some reason, for which I praise God regularly, I was a young person who was blessed to have loving, mature Christians “there” for me at so many crucial points in my life, if not always a parent. It wasn’t always them talking about God that impressed me: it was usually the loving way they respected my intelligence and/or opinions & choices – or not, as the case may have been. But ALWAYS the way they were “as Jesus to me”. They spoke the truth in love; they modeled the Christian life (which included imperfection of actions, but sincere love of the Lord & His people), and just seemed to be in the right place at the right time!

    ….and lastly, I believe one of the best gifts I received from those wonderful Christians, was respect. They LISTENED….and gave credence to some of the things I said or did…and ENCOURAGED. Mostly, though, they just loved me.

    Don’t lose hope. I’m sad to say that there are SEVERAL folks I didn’t tell exactly how much difference they made as Christians, in my life. But for quite a while, now, I’ve tried to rectify that by letting people know NOW, what a tremendous blessing they’ve been to me. And, some, if they could see me now, I know, would be proud that where & who I am today, is very likely due to the Lord using THEM to show me the way!

    Count YOURSELF in that number, Pastor Kris, even if I’m no longer a young person!

  2. PS ….I will also be the first to admit that regardless of a wonderful pastor or “elder” or youth leader, I STILL “did stupid”. That was mostly while in college, and I was very active in a church youth group then. Those things were nobody’s fault, but my bad decisions. Not “mistakes”, as our politicians & public “wrong-doers” like to say, but bad decisions, bad choices, hurtful ones. Praise God, He brought me through them safely and a wiser person, without seeming to harm others.

    Bless you, and keep on doing what you are called to do! I pray that the Lord will give you the encouragement you need!

  3. well, i for one firmly believe you did nothing wrong!!!quite the reverse!

    young people to day have so many many different” items “to contend with and to………………………….having said that……..pray they will turn to our LORD…..
    in due course……..AMEN

    and keep being the wonderful person you are……………

  4. OK, OK, God is GOOD!… in the midst of my dispair I got a call Sunday afternoon from Joey – who is in boot camp. It seems that the first day of boot camp that he could call his parents he called them… and then ME! So we chatted and he told me that the Christian medallion that I sent him is attached to his dog tag that is on him at all times. And I got to pray with/for him over the phone. Totally awesome! Praise the Lord! But how come they can’t ALL be like that? How come they are so rare?

  5. Because Joey makes up for a LOT of the others! I remember HIM from the first time I took grandkids to church with me (was it CHRISTMAS EVE? maybe it was another special service). That would have been about 4 years or so ago. He came up to me and the kiddos & welcomed us & chatted. I was SO impressed! Unusual in a teen, to me, at least.

    So, God’s Word does not come back void…and that seed that fell on fertile soil is growing STRONGER each day, in Joey! The same, I think, happened with me, as a teen. You might not seem to have influenced ALL the kids you’ve loved & taught & been as Jesus to, but SOME of them will carry on, wearing those same SHOES OF THE GOSPEL long after you taught them, long after you’re gone.

    I praise God for Joey’s encouraging call to you!

    Blessings,
    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

