James 1:22-25

Our Scripture reading for today is:

James 1:22           Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. 23 Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror 24 and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. 25 But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does.

++++++++++++++++++++++

A couple comments:

My wife always is frustrated because I really hardly ever look at my hair when I get out of the shower. She especially get perturbed when I don’t even look at it after she gets done cutting it! Pretty funny! But it ISN’T so funny when we forget to look into the mirror of God’s law and see where we have gone wrong in our lives and make any corrections necessary!

Have you ever wondered why someone all of a sudden drops out of church? There might be a lot of reasons, actually, but one very prevalent reason, I strongly suspect, is because they have decided to embark on a direction in life that they don’t want the Scriptures and/or God to comment on. They don’t want to look in the mirror and be faced with the reality that they are sinning! Ignorance is bliss! I think the temptation is there for everyone, but we must pray that we don’t let it overcome us, that we remain faithful to not only looking in the mirror of God’s law, but also, with God’s grace and mercy and strength, DOING it as well!

Make it your prayer today!

One thought on “James 1:22-25

  1. Methinks I have a different take on mirrors, as they appear to be used in this passage. I have only one in my house, & it isn’t on the way to anywhere that I go, pretty much, in my place. There’s not one in the bathroom where one normally finds one. So, I’m usually surprised when I bother to look in a mirror, say, in my pocket book,should I decide to actually use makeup so I can recognize myself, or have others recognize me! I believe NOT having mirrors readily available in my house has freed me from being concerned with the outward me, and more aware & concerned with the inward me who tries to be as Jesus to others, as best I can. Truly, I am how I act and speak and “do unto others”, to my mind, not what the mirror shows of my outward self.
    Having said that, I agree wholeheartedly that we must continue to look into that “perfect law”, the Word of God, and keep checking, through Scripture reading, listening to the Word of God being preached, and talking about it with like-minded Christians, so that we can continue to grow more and more like Christ. The way I can see that growth is in the faces and lives of those He has asked me to minister to in His name.

Leave a Reply

