One Down, 65 To Go

On my handheld Palm Pilot there is a little program that figures out a reading schedule of the Bible according to whatever parameters you give it. It sat there and sat there unused for two years… Until this January when I decided that it was HIGH time for me to systematically and deliberately read through the scriptures (THE WORD OF GOD). I am sure that at one point or another I have read the whole scripture, but not in one sweep.

So, anyway, every morning before anyone else gets up, I get my coffee and see what I get to read for the day. So far it has been a great experience and I hope that perhaps I can be an inspiration for you. “If Pastor BJORNSTAD can do it, so can I!” It was the other day that I finally finished Genesis. It was quite fun! The bible on my Palm Pilot has a little running commentary beside the text that kind of explains things and highlights important points that might otherwise go unnoticed.

THE MOST INTERESTING THING I HAD TOTALLY FORGOTTEN ABOUT:
The story of how Tamar, the daughter-in-law of Judah, disguised herself as a prostitute and became pregnant by Judah. You can read in chapter 38 how she did it and the tricks she pulls on Judah and the shame that he brings upon himself. The Bible deals with sin strait out!

THE FUNNIEST THING I READ:

Gen. 42:1    When Jacob learned that there was grain in Egypt, he said to his sons, “Why do you just keep looking at each other?” 2 He continued, “I have heard that there is grain in Egypt. Go down there and buy some for us, so that we may live and not die.”

Bunch of lazy sons! I can just hear Jacob, old and feeble himself, but fit enough to get super frustrated with his sons as they mope around as everyone starves! “Why do you just keep looking at each other?”

“THE COMING AWAY” FEELING: AMAZING stuff this Genesis is. The sweep and drama of it all, the details and promise… Way better than an afternoon soap opera. A truly worthy foundation for our faith.

Leave a Reply

