Swan Song for Marriage?

Reading in the NY Times today the article concerning the fact that more women are living without a husband than with for the first time in American history (except perhaps wartime or during the time of slavery.) Here is one quote:

“This is yet another of the inexorable signs that there is no going back to a world where we can assume that marriage is the main institution that organizes people’s lives,” said Prof. Stephanie Coontz, director of public education for the Council on Contemporary Families, a nonprofit research group. “Most of these women will marry, or have married. But on average, Americans now spend half their adult lives outside marriage.”

Critical questions for us as Christians: Will marriage remain one of those essential keys of the Godly life for us?

For me, I am thnking about how I should be teaching marriage to the Sunday School kids and especially Confirmation kids… How can I help you as parents and grandparents teach your children the beautiful gift of marriage and what it means for us as Christians (and all of humanity – whether the society recognizes it or not!) And what DOES it mean, anyway? We need to clarify that for ourselves!

I just loved this one quote from a woman:

Carol Crenshaw, 57, of Roswell, Ga., was divorced in 2005 after 33 years and says she is in no hurry to marry again.

“I’m in a place in my life where I’m comfortable,” said Ms. Crenshaw, who has two grown sons. “I can do what I want, when I want, with whom I want. I was a wife and a mother. I don’t feel like I need to do that again.”

Such a typical American attitude for this 21st century! Lord, come and save us quickly from ourselves!

God bless your marriage today!

2 thoughts on “Swan Song for Marriage?

  1. I guess I am reading into this woman’s statement a sense of disrespect for the institution of marriage and a devotion toward “self” rather than God. I don’t know, of course, but I would wonder why this woman was divorced in the first place. I might guess that part of the problem was that she was in it for herself. As soon as it fulfilled her immediate needs, she dropped it. It wasn’t a part of her worship and calling of God.

Leave a Reply

